Statement of Solidarity by Jewish Communal Organizations

and Individuals in Dallas 


The Jewish Federation of Greater Dallas, its Jewish Community Relations Council, and the Dallas area Jewish community share a profound sense of loss and grief as we grapple with the brutality and senselessness of George Floyd’s death.


Judaism teaches that every individual is created B’tzelem Elohim, in G-d’s image. With this notion, we affirm that every life is precious and has value. We honor the voices, emotion, and pain of the peaceful protests taking place in the wake of recent tragedies targeting African Americans, and strongly condemn those who take advantage of this time to invoke hatred and destruction in cities across America, including ours.

We express our solidarity and are deeply committed to our ongoing relationship with the African American community in Dallas. It is with great humility that we offer our deepest sympathy and our commitment to a more just society for all. We also express our gratitude to the civic and faith leaders working to keep our city and community safe through this increasingly challenging time.


Aaron Family JCC of Dallas
ADL Texoma
AJC Dallas
Akiba Yavneh Academy
Ann & Nate Levine Academy
Chabad at Legacy West
Chabad of Dallas
Chabad of Plano/Collin County
Community Homes for Adults
Congregation Anshai Torah
Congregation Beth Torah
Congregation Shaare Tefilla
Congregation Shearith Israel
Congregation Toras Chaim
Dallas Jewish Community Foundation
DATA - Dallas Area Torah Association
DATA of Plano
DATA of Richardson
Friendship Circle of Dallas
Hadassah Dallas Chapter
JET (Jewish Education Texas)
Jewish Family Service of Greater Dallas
Jewish Federation of Greater Dallas/ Jewish Community Relations Council
Jewish Learning Center of Dallas
Mesorah High School
National Council of Jewish Women Dallas
NCSY Dallas
Sephardic Torah Center of Dallas
Shir Tikvah
Southwest Jewish Congress
Temple Emanu-El
Temple Shalom
Texas Jewish Post
The Legacy Senior Communities
Tiferet Israel Congregation

Individuals and Organizations

Artie Allen, CEO, Aaron Family JCC
Rabbi Shlomo Abrams, Jewish Learning Center of Dallas*
Dr. Harvey J. Bloom, Post 256, Jewish War Veterans of the USA
Meyer L. Bodoff, President & CEO,
Dallas Jewish Community Foundation
Lisa J. Brodsky, CEO,
Community Homes for Adults*
Christopher Cheniae, President,
Temple Emanu-El*
Rabbi Michael Tevya Cohen, Dir. Rabbinical Services and Pastoral Care, The Legacy Senior Communities
Lory Conte, Senior Regional Director, BBYO*
Rabbi Heidi Coretz, Shir Tikvah and Hillel at SMU
Rabbi Zvi Drizin, The Intown Chabad*
Andy Dropkin, Chairman of the Board,
Dallas Jewish Community Foundation
Mendel Dubrawsky, Chabad of Dallas*
Tom Elieff, Head of School,
Ann & Nate Levine Academy*
Rabbi Aryeh Feigenbaum,
Congregation Ohr HaTorah
* For information only
Mariam Shpeen Feist, President & CEO,
Jewish Federation of Greater Dallas*
Rabbi Yerachmiel Fried, Dean of DATA
Rabbi Michael Friedman
Rabbi Yaakov Green, Head of School, Akiba Yavneh Academy
Rabbi Mordechai Harris, JFGD's
Center for Jewish Education*
Mary Pat Higgins, President & CEO,
Dallas Holocaust and Human Rights Museum*
Monte Hurst, Chairman of the Board, Aaron Family JCC
Lynda Markowitz, President,
Congregation Beth Torah
Sandy Haymann Marks, President of the Board of Trustees, Ann & Nate Levine Academy*
Cindy Sweet Moskowitz, Chair, JFGD's Jewish Community Relations Council*
Rabbi Avi Honigsfeld,
DATA of Richardson
Rabbi Sholey Klein,
Vaad Hakashrus of Dallas
Rabbi Avraham Zev Kosowsky,
Mesorah High School
Rabbi Yoel Lax, NCSY
Rabbi Dan Lewin,
Maayan Chai Foundation
Rabbi Jeremy Litton,
Ann & Nate Levine Academy*
Meredith J. O'Byrne, Exec. Dir.,
Temple Emanu-El*
Melissa Orth, President & CEO,
The Legacy Senior Communities
Rabbi Andrew M. Paley, Temple Shalom*
Rabbi Jordan M. Parr, Temple Beth El*, Odessa, TX
Rabbi Avi Pekier, Torah Day School of Dallas
Rabbi Ariel Rackovsky, Congregation Shaare Tefilla
Jerry Rasansky, Chair,
The Legacy Senior Communities
Rabbi Aryeh Rodin, Congregation Ohev Shalom
Rabbi Shalom Rodin, JET (Jewish Education Texas)*
Rabbi Adam Roffman,
Congregation Shearith Israel
A.J. Rosmarin, Board Chair, Jewish Federation of Greater Dallas*
Y. Meir Sabo

Joel Schwitzer, Regional Director, AJC Dallas

Rabbi Moshe Segal, DATA of Richardson 
Rabbi Zecharia Sionit, Sephardic Torah Center of Dallas
Rabbi Benjamin Sternman,
Adat Chaverim
Rabbi Ari Sunshine, Senior Rabbi, Congregation Shearith Israel*
Rabbi Joshua Taub
Rabbi Shira WallachCongregation Shearith Israel*
Sharon Wisch-Ray, Publisher/Editor, Texas Jewish Post
Harriet Whiting, President, AJC Dallas
Rabbi Howard WolkJewish Family Service*
Rabbi Nasanya Zakon, DATA of Plano
Rabbi Elana Zelony, Congregation Beth Torah
Rabbi Brian ZimmermanBeth El Congregation*
Anita Zusman Eddy, Exec. Dir., JFGD's Jewish Community Relations Council*